Great List for Beginning Readers
Jane Addams Children's Book Awards (Plus Review Links)

Ezra Jack Keats Book Award 2007

The Ezra Jack Keats Foundation announced the 2007 prizewinners. (I'm not exactly sure when it did, but the award ceremony takes place this week.)

The New Illustrator Award goes to Kristen Balouch for Mystery Bottle, which she wrote and illustrated, and For You Are a Kenyan Child won Kelly Cunnane the New Writer prize.

Named in honor of the author/illustrator of The Snowy Day and many other books,

[t]he Ezra Jack Keats Book Award was established in 1985 to recognize and encourage authors and illustrators new to the field of children's books.  Many past winners of the EJK Book Award have gone on to distinguished careers creating many books beloved by parents, children, librarians and teachers across the country.

The Ezra Jack Keats New Writer and New Illustrator Awards are given annually to an outstanding new writer of picture books for children (age 9 and under) and are presented jointly by the New York Public Library and the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation.

The above information is from the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation website, which is sporting a spiffy new design. (New to me, at least.)


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Yay! I LOVE LOVE LOVE For You Are a Kenyan Child.

Jules, I've seen that book but not read it. Will have to correct that ASAP.

The comments to this entry are closed.