In Code
Russian Lit

Hans Christian Andersen Award Finalists

The finalists for the Hans Christian Andersen Award have been announced. (3/23, Updated to add: the winners are now in bold-face type.)

In the author category are Ahmad Reza Ahmadi (Iran), David Almond (United Kingdom), Bartolomeu Campos de Queiros (Brazil), Lennart Hellsing (Sweden), and Louis Jensen (Denmark).

In the illustrator group are Jutta Bauer (Germany), Carll Cneut (Belgium), Etienne Delessert (Switzerland), Svjetlan Junakovic (Croatia), and Roger Mello (Brazil).

Sponsored by the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY), the award honors "a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature." Katherine Paterson, currently our National Ambassador for Young People's Literature, won the author prize in 1998. Additional information can be found on the Hans Christian Andersen Award page at IBBY's web site.


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Love this award. Can't wait to see the winner announced...

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)